Happy New Year!

Hello everyone, a Happy New Year to each of you!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, and that you had a chance to relax and spend some quality time with family and friends! I know I did.

DSC09959

Brenna and her creation!

Happy Birthday to my niece Brenna! She is 15 today. She too has that natural love for flowers that her mom (my youngest sister Lorraine, who lives with her family in Grand Rapids, Michigan) and the rest of us share. Here is a photo of Brenna when she came to stay with me for a week last summer. This is the arrangement she made for me….pretty impressive Brenna! Have a great day!

And now we head into 2014…..wow, I know that my mom always says that time goes faster as we get older. It’s true! I am very thankful for a new year and that today we are another day closer to spring. Oh, I look so forward to spring. The months coming up are the longest of the year for me, especially March.

 

Here are some suggestions for each of you gardeners to get through these long three winter months!

  1. Google seed companies and order catalogues to be sent to you.
  2. Pick up some of your favourite gardening magazines.
  3. Go to your favourite coffee shop, order your favourite beverage, and sit down with your magazines and catalogues and starting perusing.
  4. Start dreaming about the garden oasis that you would love to create.
  5. Jot down some names of plants that you would love to try to grow in your garden and order the seeds.
  6. Make a sketch of your dream garden.
  7. Visit garden shows, especially Canada Blooms in March (hang in there….you are almost there!)
  8. Call me to help you make that dream come true this spring!
DSC00179

Russian sage surrounding my bird bath

DSC00177

Kale and Zinnias happy to grow side by side

DSC00180

Rudbeckia Goldsturm on a misty morning

DSC00184

My grass and stone walkway to the shed. Love it!

DSC00186

My backyard getaway!

Believe me, other than going south….this is the best way for us garden fanatics to get through the dark dreary days of winter to spring. Here are a few photos of my summer garden to help inspire you….enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Thanks Karin for fun picture of Brenna! Seeing those pictures are great to see on a day that we in the midst of a blizzard and deep freeze. Hope for spring!!!!:) Love Lorraine

  2. Hi Karin
    Happy New Year to you and yours ! This is the worse winter in muskoka in a long time. Snow Snow every day.
    Thank you the pictures gave me hope that spring is around the corner .
    Your garden pictures are beautiful wish I could see it. Hope you come back this summer to Bracebridge .
    Have a good year .
    Phyllis Freeburn

    • Thanks for the greetings Phyllis. Good news! I will be coming back to Bracebridge in April! I will be working at The Pines to install raised garden beds and to set up a therapeutic horticulture program. Pretty exciting. We should connect!

Leave a comment