Christmas is coming fast!

DSC07664I don’t know about the rest of you but I find by the time November rolls around we can start kissing the year good-bye! Is it my age? The older we get, the faster time flies?! We are already well into December! Maybe it’s because I am having such a great time. I have been very busy in my retirement homes doing various Christmas activities such as making fresh wreaths and swags from scratch. When working with fresh cedar and pine you really get the full package….what I mean is that you can enjoy the outdoors without stepping a foot outside! The brilliant greens, the cold wet feel of the branches, and the best part, the fragrance! That spicy fragrance of silver fir, the wonderful nostalgic smell of cedar (or a hope chest….or as I always called it; hopeless chest ha ha), and of course the pungent fragrance of the white pine. And don’t forget the very sticky sap, it smells fantastic but you cannot seem to get it off of your hands!

Learning how to make a bow!

It is amazing the memories that are reawakened when I am working with the residents of the retirement homes by an activity as simple as working with fresh Christmas greens. Some have memories of children at home doing simple tasks as they prepared for the holidays such as decorating the Christmas tree or baking yummy treats to be shared with loved ones. I will always remember my mom putting the lights on the tree first, and then us kids could go to town with the decorations and the tinsel. Whatever happened to tinsel? Do people still put it on their trees?

When we are working with live plants and fresh greens, it’s wonderful to listen to the stories that are shared. Sometimes I have to remind myself that each of these people were young once, with hope and dreams of their own. It is a privilege to be able to work with each of them and I am forever thankful that these homes can provide a safe happy place for them to live.

So this Christmas season, if you don’t have a grandparent to visit, why don’t you go into one of our local retirement homes…..and have a chat with one of the seniors. You would make their day…..actually probably their week!

Have a wonderful Christmas dear friends, and all the best to you in the New Year!

Karin

3 thoughts on “Christmas is coming fast!

  1. karin Ijust wanted to thankyou for helping us at bian. the time spent doing the Christmas centrepieceswas so fruitfull and truly has brightened our Christmas spirits which had not yet been sparkedI have always loved Creating and you have reawakened that love. your generous spirit is much appreciated Iworked with mrs.Vanderknyff at the hosp.
    Ialso visited your country of birth. While welived in Belgium and France thanks again and MERRY CHRISTMAS

    • Hello Barbara,

      Thanks so much for your kind comments! I absolutely love coming to bian….there is something very special about each of you.
      Isn’t Holland wonderful? I wasn’t born there but my parents were…I lived there for awhile when I was 24. A long time ago. I do try to get there to visit family every few years as well. I wish you a very happy Christmas and I hope to see you in the new year!

  2. hi karin did you receivemy last reply thanking you for coming to bian? i love it. barbarabonfoco merry Christmas and happy new year.

    On Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 9:13 PM, Karin Vermeer

Leave a comment